Simon Toyne: Solomon Creed

I haven’t read any Simon Toyne books for a while, and I have only ever read The Sanctus Trilogy which I read many years ago. I really loved the concept of this trilogy and the religious themes within the novels, so I was really looking forward to reading Toyne’s latest piece of work.

Solomon Creed follows a man who appears as if out of nowhere from a crash site of a burning plane. He believes that he is where he is for a reason and that the book he possesses proves that this is the case. Though he does not know anything about himself (his name, where he is from…), he slowly begins to uncover information about what he is capable of as he encounters different scenarios – finding out that he is knowledgeable in medicine and how to kill another man. As the novel unravels, he finds that the town of Redemption where the plane has crashed is embroiled in secrets far more dangerous than what he or anybody else believes and, with the help of Holly Coronado, he hopes to uncover the reason behind his presence within this town.

Though the concept of the story-line is absolutely brilliant, I found that it took a while for the novel to really get going – finding it a tad slow towards the beginning as the scene was set and characters were introduced. There were a lot of characters in Solomon Creed, and I did at times find it hard to remember who was who as I felt that some characters were similar to others in their manner – or their names just seemed quite close to each other! There was a lot of development for many of the characters, and I loved watching them come into their own as the events of the town allowed them to understand more about themselves and the people around them, becoming better or worse because of this. Once the story got going I was hooked. I couldn’t put the book down and I loved the way the story frequently brought new information to me resulting in plot twists I was not expecting.

One technique that I really enjoyed was the use of epistolary in the form of diary entries of Redemption’s founding father, Jack Cassidy. These entries gave interesting backstory that allowed me to understand events that were taking place in the present, and how they influenced and affected the situations taking place. It unraveled secrets, but also gave insight into the lives of some of the characters.

The ending of the novel was fitting, rounding off the character of Solomon Creed but also raising various questions that had not yet been answered. With the use of the epilogue, it is clear to see that there will be more time spent with Creed in the future with the chance to understand more about who he is and what he does – it left me with a few more questions that I hope will be answered within the next novel.

Leave a Reply

