Tim Waggoner: Supernatural – Mythmaker

*Potential for spoilers.

Supernatural Cover

I received a free physical copy of this book from the publishers in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 4/5
Publisher: Titan Books
Publication Date: July 26th 2016

Synopsis:

Teenager Renee Mendez is a talented artist living in Corinth, Illinois. She loves drawing the strange gods that feature in her dreams, without realizing that when she depicts them on canvas, they come to life in the real world. When Sam and Dean Winchester come to town to investigate the “miracles” these new gods perform, a battle for supremacy breaks out. As their war for followers rages, the gods will destroy each other – and the town’s population – until only the strongest remains.

Review:

Having been a fan of the Supernatural TV series, I couldn’t miss up the chance to read a book from the series that breaks away from the screen. Admittedly, I haven’t watched the TV series since series 9 where things went down with Dean (die-hard Supernatural fans will know what I am on about!) and have struggled to get back into it since. Also, having never read one of the Supernatural books, I was intrigued to see the differences between media forms.

One of the aspects I enjoyed the most was that, even though I haven’t watched the series since the beginning of season 9, I was still able to slip right in to the characters and their ways. The show does these characters justice and I could clearly see the characters of Sam and Dean I was so familiar with in the show, within the books. Waggoner really helps new and old readers and fans slip right back into the action taking place by leaving helpful reminders on how certain demons are killed, past events that have occurred to Sam and Dean, and so on. He does this so well that I don’t feel like I am re-reading information that’s just being thrown at me each and every time. It feels fresh and new and doesn’t make the narrative boring or dull being retold all of this information. I like that he only reminds us of information that is relevant to the events taking place and the supernatural creatures they encounter and it feels like a natural thought process of Sam or Dean’s.

Within Mythmaker, you are essentially treated to two different stories within one. I’m not sure if this is the case within every book but in this case as Sam and Dean embark upon this new adventure and uncover the truth about the supernatural creatures they are about to face, we are treated to flashbacks from Sam to an event in their past that bears similarities to events currently taking place which ultimately allows them to understand how to go about defeating these beings. This shows the skills and experience that Sam and Dean possess but also highlights the rarity of encountering creatures such as these and gives insight into the earlier days of learning to hunt. I always loved finding out about their childhood and learning their family trade within the TV shows and it is every bit as informative and character building within the book as the series.

As I mentioned, Sam and Dean are typical of the characters I have experience on TV. Their sarcasm, wit, and easy banter flowing just as easily through the written word as through visuals. I could easily envisage the characters before me and the ease with which they went about their jobs. It even read like a generic setup of a Supernatural TV episode which I really enjoyed and set me at ease encountering them in book form instead.

Leave a Reply

