Mailbox Monday #1

Mailbox Monday is a weekly bookish meme hosted over at Mailbox Monday where you post about the books you have received in a post over the past week. On Saturday I did Stacking The Shelves which talked about the books I had brought in-store. Today, I will be talking about the two books that I also brought that day, but online.

This week’s books are from the same author and within the same series. I brought them after watching the movie and wanted to see what the books were like. And yes, I did the naughty bookish thing and watched the film first – I’m sorry!

Without further ado, the books are:

Me Before You Cover

Lou Clark knows a lot of things.

She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now, and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

After You Cover

Lou Clark has lots of questions.

Like how it is she’s ended up working in an airport bar, watching other people jet off to new places. Or why the flat she’s owned for a year still doesn’t feel like home. Whether her family can ever forgive her for what she did eighteen months ago.

And will she ever get over the love of her life.

What Lou does know for certain is that something has to change.

Then, one night, it does.

But does the stranger on her doorstep hold the answers Lou is searching for – or just more questions?

Close the door and life continues: simple, ordered, safe. Open it and she risks everything.

But Lou once made a promise to live. And if she’s going to keep it, she has to invite them in . . .

So yes, the two books I brought are the majorly hyped books by Jojo Moyes. But, after watching the film, I can greatly see the hype!

I’m not one that reads a lot of what I call “fluff” novels. They’re more my go-to read if I’m having a major slump, but more and more I’m heading towards YA for that. I’d thought I’d try these ones out after enjoying the film, and I’m looking forward to finding out how much Moyes destroys my emotions with her writing.

Leave a Reply

