Monthly TBRs – Why I Don’t Do Them

tbr-image

There is no better way to describe a TBR pile! And this also brings me onto my train of thought for today’s post and why I do not bother to make a monthly TBR list.

Over the course of my time as a book blogger, and watcher of BookTubers, I have noticed a reoccurring theme of monthly, or seasonal, TBR posts or videos. The person in question writes, or films, about the number of books they hope to read that month and why they chose that book, to then post a monthly reading wrap-up at the end that highlights what they did, and didn’t, end up reading.

Now, I can see the advantages of such a thing. You are able to plan ahead and read certain books within a given time: books that you’ve been eagerly awaiting, books that you need to read by a given date, or books that you’ve been putting off for absolutely ages and really just want to get them out of the way! However, I also see the disadvantages of such a concept, and this is why I do not do them.

One of the main reasons that I do not do a monthly TBR: I don’t know what mood I will be in!

I  am one of those people that will, sometimes, only read certain books depending on my mood. This can be affected by how recently I brought the book, how much I want to read that book based on hype or interest etc… I don’t see the point in lining up a load of books to read in one month to then find that my interests have changed halfway through. I would then ditch that book and, most likely, go on to read something that was not initially on that pile. And yes, I know that you can deviate from that pile but – and I’m sure I’m not the only one – sometimes you just feel bad for stating you were going to read so-and-so book only to completely dispose of the idea!

Another reason I don’t set out a monthly TBR: I receive books throughout that month!

Now, as most book bloggers or BookTubers will know, publishers will send you ARCs or finished copies of books to be released. They may even ask you to help promote that book through a blog tour, giving you a set date to read that book by. Hence, why I do not set a TBR. I tend to receive books in the month that they’re due to be released, which can lead to some shuffling of when I would prefer to read books. For example, I could be emailed by a publisher tomorrow about a book that is coming out later this month. This would then require me to read this book before the date of release in order to get a review up and published in time for the publication date. I know that sometimes it is hard to read books to be on time for these dates but, I am one of those people that likes to help promote those books through my review and wants to shout out from the rooftops how good, or sometimes bad, a book may be! Deep inside me, I want that review to be up on time, and it can sometimes eat at me if I miss that date or if other things get in the way of me reading that book. And also, I work quite a lot so, I don’t always have a lot of time to get reading done! So, this is another reason for me not doing a monthly TBR as I do not want to be beholden to a tonne of books I said I would read, only for ARCs to come my way or my time be taken up by unplanned events and for the pile to have to be jiggled around.

But also, sometimes it’s nice to not be thinking about your next read. A lot of the time I will finish a book and, if I can’t decide what I want to read, I take the decision out my hands by getting my partner to choose for me. He is in no way interested in books so it is always interesting to see what choices he makes.

So, though this post may have been a bit rambly, these are the main reasons why I do not post a monthly TBR or set myself a reading list for a certain month. I may sometimes think in my head what book I would like to read next but, as I have mentioned, factors can come into play that will alter this decision.

5 thoughts on “Monthly TBRs – Why I Don’t Do Them

  1. I just came across your blog and I love that you talk about being a mood reader, as am I!! I’ve only been blogging for about 5 weeks and I’ve noticed all the other bloggers seem to be better organized and know what they’re reading next at all times. I don’t plan out my books unless I have a time commitment for a review for a new release date so I enjoy kind of “winging it,” so you never know what might pop up on my blog which I kind of like. Glad I found your blog, I like your review style:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Reading for me is a hobby, and I already feel some pressure to make sure I read books in order to review for their release date. I don’t want that added pressure of sticking to books I said I would read. And this blog is primarily a hobby as well, but it is something that I enjoy to. You won’t see me doing wrap-up posts as, if you want to see what I’ve been reading, then there’s my Twitter or Goodreads. I don’t like pressure and stress, there’s too much of that in everyday life!

      And thank you for commenting. I hope you enjoy the content! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

