Book Highlights of 2016

2016 is fast approaching the end of its time with us and this year has been a hell of a year. For me personally, it hasn’t been the best year of my life and – yes – we do all say that about each and every year that passes, but maybe there’s good reason for this year being particularly bad. I mean, have you been hiding for the past year?!

Skimming over that, this year has been a brilliant – if I do say so myself – year for books and reading. I’ve read a few books this year that have reached by 5* reviews page, I’ve read books I may never have read before, and thereadinglodge has grown and grown throughout the year.

To mark the end of this year, I wanted to write a post about my book highlights; the books that I have thoroughly enjoyed, that I’ve not been able to put down, that have invested me in a new series. Why not check them out if you haven’t already?

frostblood-cover

First, will be Frostblood. Admittedly, this book does not hit the shelves until January 2017 but I was lucky enough to receive a proof of this book and I thoroughly enjoyed it! It’s a new series of YA fantasy by Canadian author Elly Blake and it is a book that is already garnering a lot of hype – and rightly so! If you’re looking for a new YA fantasy that has factions, a head-strong female protagonist alongside myth and folklore, this novel is the one for you!

 

 

 

roanoke-girls-cover

 

Another novel not due out until 2017, but I couldn’t put this book down! Set in Kansas, this novel follows the Roanoke Girls whose family holds a dark and twisted secret. This novel was gripping, dark, and all kinds of messed up but I loved all of it. It’s filled with emotion and characters trying to understand why these events keeping taking place, and why no-one has stopped it or ran away.

 

 

fate-of-the-tearling-cover

I’m just going to leave this one here! Not just The Fate of the Tearling, but all the other books in the series. I really loved the Tearling series and how our society has reverted back to a time without technology, medicine, and arms. It sings to my love of novels set in the past and wanting to understand and immerse myself in a time where there isn’t internet or mobile phones to be taken for granted. Johansen is a brilliant writer bringing a multitude of characters with different ambitions and goals, some of which are strong, empowering, and stubborn!

Erika Johansen: The Invasion of the Tearling
Erika Johansen: The Queen of the Tearling

a closed and common orbit cover

There was no way this book wouldn’t make it onto my highlights! I absolutely adored the first in this duology and was invested from the get go. I love the way that Chambers creates a science-fiction novel that focuses more on the characters as opposed to the world-building. There is more emphasis on the actual science as well, something that you don’t see a lot of in science fiction!

Becky Chambers: A Closed and Common Orbit
Becky Chambers: The Long Way To A Small Angry Planet

 

 

Nevernight Cover

You’d be a fool not to have enjoyed this novel; the first in a new series for Jay Kristoff! A YA fantasy that follows Mia Corvere as she becomes a student in a school for assassins in the hopes of avenging her father, as well as the rest of her family, who were killed before her eyes. She is strong-willed, independent, and full of guts with powers stronger than many. It was nice reading a novel about a younger characters with all of these characteristics who knows what she wants and how to get it.

Jay Kristoff: Nevernight

 

The City of Mirrors Featured Image

One of my most anticipated reads of this year! I’ve followed this series since it was first published and have been invested ever since. I love the aspect that Cronin uses on the whole vampire trope and how realistic and vivid his writing is. Never before have I read a series of books that leaves me fearing for my life every time I put down the book for a rest. I became so submerged within the pages of these books I forgot about the world around me and couldn’t comprehend why I wasn’t being apprehended by a horde of vampires!

Justin Cronin: The City of Mirrors
Justin Cronin: The Passage

 

13199063_10209248087744073_2133255076_o

Underwater by Marisa Reichardt is a novel that should be read by anyone, especially if you have an interest in/are looking for a novel that highlights the mental health and how it is dealt with. I truly loved this novel and found myself connecting with the main character and fully understanding her mental illness. It was emotional and really focused on important topics, including that of school shootings.

Marisa Reichardt: Underwater

 

 

IMG_20160225_142516

I read this novel back towards the beginning of the year and I couldn’t put it down! It’s a work of fantasy where people can morph into the animals of their tribe, inheriting the abilities of those animals: good sight, hearing, the ability to hunt etc. It’s a standard concept, and one I thoroughly enjoyed but it was the way that Tchaikovsky wrote this novel that I really enjoyed alongside the conflicts put in place to hinder the main characters progression forward.

Adrian Tchaikovsky: The Tiger and the Wolf

3 thoughts on “Book Highlights of 2016

Leave a Reply

