C. M. Lucas: Mist and Whispers

mist-and-whispers-cover

Four handwritten tales about love, magic, and mythical creatures have become the biggest phenomenon this world has ever seen, creating hysteria among millions of readers across the globe. With the author using an anonymous pen-name, everyone is asking: Who is the Weaver?

In the West-English town of Little Wolf Green, Scott’s bookshop is about to close down. Convinced the bookshop holds the key to her mother’s identity, sixteen year old Anya Piddling vows to save Scott’s, whatever the cost. That’s when she discovers the Weaver’s riddle. Combined with the Weaver’s original four books, the riddle promises to lead Anya to a reward that could pull Scott’s out of the fire, if only she can decipher the clues. But her quest becomes tangled with another when she finds herself in a land where darkness is eternal, the women are missing, and the men are awaiting her arrival for their salvation.

When Iain, the owner of Scott’s bookshop sadly passes away, Anya vows to do whatever she can to keep the place running out of fear that his son will sell the store to their local competitor. James George, owner of Chronicle’s, has seen huge success since he found the books written by the Weave causing Scott’s bookshop to lose a lot of its custom. Anya believes that there could be more to the Weaver and, in a desperate attempt to save the bookshop, journeys to the location where George found the books in the hope that she can uncover something that will save the shop. Little does she, and her friends, know that they will be sent on an adventure, following a riddle written by the Weaver himself that suggests that there are more books to be found.

Mist and Whispers is a book that I had exceedingly high expectations for; dubbed to be perfect for fans of Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart trilogy, I was immediately hooked. However, though there were definitely elements similar to the Inkheart trilogy, I didn’t find myself as interested in this book as I was expecting.

One thing that made it hard for me to truly immerse myself within the novel was the phrasings and sentence structures. Though this may be a case of poor editing, I frequently found myself having to re-read extracts or sentences as the way in which they were worded made it hard for me to read at a steady pace. It made the narrative disjointed and jolted me out of my reading flow. Yes, this could just be a tiny mistake that was overlooked but, it happened so frequently that it was hard to overlook. Alongside this, due to having to re-read sentences, I found myself becoming more focused on figuring out the meaning thus forgetting what I had just read. I did sometimes find my mind drifting away from the narrative at times.

Though it had its issues, I did enjoy the concept of the novel and the characters it provided. Each character brought something different to the narrative: Anya was determined and full of gusto, willing to fight and jump in to save those she had only just met, Michael was more childish and stubborn, refusing to get to grips with the change in relationship he now has with Anya and unable to accept how she feels towards other people, Tim was the intelligent one, shining a light on many of the riddles answers and providing a lot of common sense, whilst Steph was ditsy yet surprisingly smart underneath, jumping in every so often with a thought that was on a tangent to the rest of the characters. They were a ragtag group of friends who had been pushed together but I enjoyed their interactions and how they all adapted and grew within themselves as the journey progressed.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s